Rising Star

Open to up and coming healthcare professionals demonstrating qualities of a bright future. Proactive and progressive in all areas with valid contributions to upholding excellence in healthcare.

Excellence in Nursing and midwifery

Open to Nurses and Midwives with demonstrated characteristics of a Leader, change agent and positive role model by consistently contributing and leading improved care, education, training and sustenance.

Outstanding Team of the Year

A team or group that have consistently demonstrate and uphold excellence in healthcare through working collaboratively, often going the extra mile to provide exceptional service (s). They must have evidence of substantive contributions enabling their organisation to provide services and care to patients, service users and colleagues.

Innovation in Healthcare

Cutting edge, high impact innovative and creative initiative that have led to improved practice, care delivery, services and cost effectiveness. This could be in health and life sciences or social care. Must be sustainable and evidence/research based.

Surgical Specialties

This category is open to Medical Personnel in any aspect of surgery who have made significant and sustainable contributions to patient care either through ground breaking innovative procedures or setting up and improving services by making it patient centred, consequently improving intervention and treatment. Anaesthetists can also be nominated for this category .


Open to pharmacists, driving change and executing innovative ways of supporting patients through health education, new way of working and contributing to health and well being either in hospital or community. Evidence of initiatives, quantifying its success and how it has helped improve patient’s care and outcome.

Advancing Health with Technology

Individual or a group using technology to advance training and healthcare delivery, reduce health inequalities, improve outcomes, including but not limited to cost effectiveness and sustenance. This could be organised knowledge in the form of devices, systems or procedures.

Excellence in Healthcare Sciences

Group of Healthcare Professionals that play a vital role in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of a vast number of medical conditions. We believe they are the backbone of Healthcare delivery and their work underpins over 70% of all diagnosis.

This category is applicable to individuals, team or group that have used innovation, unilateral research, projects to transform patient care and service delivery.

It covers – Laboratory Pathology Sciences, Physiological Sciences, Medical Physics and Clinical Engineering, Bioinformatics.

Medical Imaging

This category is open to Radiologists, Radiographers and Medical Imaging professionals who have made significant and sustained contributions to patient care either through innovation, setting up or improving services by making it patient centred and widely accessible. This award is open to diagnostic and interventional radiology services. Evidence of initiatives, audit results quantifying its success, external recognition and how it has helped improve patient’s care and the outcome is desirable

Excellence in Women’s Health

Synopsis coming soon!


This category recognises and celebrate best products and services being used in Africa to establish nurture and uphold excellence in healthcare across the continent. It provides suppliers, partners and industry within the healthcare with the opportunity to be identified as thought leaders and innovators. The partnership should also focus on delivery of greater quality care and ensuring sustenance including cost effectiveness without compromising on quality.

As the impact of excellence in healthcare is being established across the Continent, it is vital that healthcare providers only engage in partnership with who and what will nurture the greater good of the population in healthcare delivery.

Excellence in Public Health

This category is open to individuals or organisations(government or NGOs)involved in the health of the population as a whole especially as the subject of government regulation and support.

The following healthcare professionals can also enter for the award- Epidemiologists, Community Health Workers,Environmental Scientists and Health Educators with proven record of impactful contributions and upholding excellence in healthcare across Africa.

Have any Question?